Racism or Ignorance?

So I passed this (white) lady and, trying to give her a compliment in the holiday spirit,(which I don’t have much of to begin with) I say, “I like your hair.” To which she responds, “thanks I do yalls hair.” WhoTF is yalls? I am a black man I’m sure that she does not put curls and mid crown bumps in black men’s hair often. Though according to that Lyfe Jennings song, “Statistics” at least 20% of us are gay. And then there’s Snoop Dogg who could get away with it and even attract women with it, but I digress. I feel like had she said, “I do black women’s hair” or “I do hair” that would suffice but distinguishing a “Yall” infers there is an “us” and it all seemed a bit too plantation-y for me. Was it a harmless comment? Just a grammatical fallacy? Or was there some real underlying racism/ bigotry going on there? #weighin

Leave a Reply

