Writing

To create is to procreate
Thus I am a father many times over
i gave birth to sonnets, poems
and even tattoos on shoulders
my children have been written on papyrus
and glued under Osirus’ eyelids
holy scriptures penned & viewed by Jesus’ Iris
All rhetoric leveled at the development
of something timeless
so when my baby wakes me at 3am
i give her the nurturing that she needs
rock her til the crys in my head go away
or stay until my ears bleed
& let the pen swing til she falls back asleep
Let them tell it I’m selfish and a deadbeat dad
but I work til i’m exhausted
then try to give her all that I had
left up to the world her upbringing would suck
but i can be as profound as the future
or profane as….
fussy when she’s intentionally woken up
she’s enhanced by beauty sleep
of which she could never get enough
I developed her from a sound, no a letter
created an infantile word when
i put those letters together
i watched those words grow
from a kindergarten sentence
to a graduation thesis
from someone i hoped would turn out decent
to look at the eyes and ears she pleases
myBaby, i been away from her
sometimes it seem I’m on a different path
but she so much a part of me
I would give her a skin graft
so when someone asks if I’m a dad
I just look at them and laugh

Leave a Reply

